MAINE

Maine’s Paid Family and Medical Leave (PFML) law
will provide up to 12 weeks of paid leave for family
leave, medical leave, safe leave or leave related to a
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family member’s impending military deployment.

A copy of the actual laws and formal interpretations
may be found online at www.maine.gov/paidleave

employer to place this
poster in the workplace
where workers can

or by calling 207- 623-7900 | TTY users call Maine easily seeit.

Relay 711.

This poster is available online at no charge and may be copied: www.maine.gov/labor/posters/

Benefits

e Benefits are available for the duration of
your needed leave or 12 weeks, whichever
is less.

e Benefit amounts will be determined based
on your previous earnings and are capped
at Maine’s annual statewide average
weekly wage.

Reasons for Leave

Family leave: To care for a new child through birth,
adoption, fostering, or to care for family with a
serious health condition.

Medical leave: To care for one’s own serious
medical needs.

Safe leave: To stay safe or to help a family
member stay safe after abuse or violence.

Military leave: For emergencies related to a
family member’s impending military deployment.

Types of Leave

Continuous leave: Leave where you are out of work
for days or weeks at a time.

Intermittent leave: Leave where you are still
working and you need to take time off but it is
not the same every day or every week.

Reduced leave: Leave where you are still working
but you are consistently working fewer hours.

For more information contact:

Maine Department of Labor
Paid Family and Medical Leave
50 State House Station
Augusta, Maine, 04333-0050
Website: www.maine.gov/paidleave/

Eligibility

e Toestablish a claim, you must have earned

Payroll Deductions
e Premiums will be deducted from your pay

Other Information You Should Know
e Exceptinamedical emergency, an employer

The Maine Department of Labor provides equal opportunity in employment and programs.
Auxiliary aids and services are available to people with disabilities upon request.

a total of six times the statewide annual
average weekly wage in Maine in your
base period. The base period is defined as
the first four of the last five completed
calendar quarters. In most cases, the
Department of Labor has your wage
information on file. If it is not on file,

the Department will take steps to obtainit.

beginning with the first pay date after
January 1, 2025.

For calendar years 2025 through 2027,
the premium rate for you cannot be more
than 0.5 percent of wages. For example, an
individual who earns $600 per week will
contribute no more than $3 per week.

can claim an undue hardship in certain
circumstances and request that the leave be
scheduled at a mutually-agreeable time.

Employers must restore you back to your
original position or to an equivalent position
with equivalent benefits, pay and other terms
and conditions of employment if you have
been with your employer for at least 120
consecutive days when you started your leave.

Applications for benefits are scheduled
to be accepted starting May 1, 2026
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