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Break Time for Nursing Mothers: 

Maine’s Nursing mothers in the workplace law requires employers to provide unpaid break time, or 
permit an employee to use paid break time or meal time each day, to express breast milk for their 
nursing child for up to 3 years following childbirth. Federal law covers the 1st year only. 
 
Employers are also required to provide a place, other than a bathroom, that is shielded from view and 
free from intrusion from coworkers and the public, which may be used by an employee to express 
breast milk. Employers may not discriminate in any way against an employee who chooses to express 
breast milk in the workplace.  

 

Earned Paid Leave: 

‘An Act Authorizing Earned Employee Leave’ guarantees earned time off, for whatever reason, for 
employees who work for a business with more than 10 employees. Employees accrue 1 hour of Earned 
Paid Leave for every 40 hours worked, up to 40 hours in a defined year. More information and FAQs: 
www.maine.gov/labor/labor_laws/earnedpaidleave/  

 

State Family Medical Leave: 

Maine’s Family Medical Leave laws apply to an employee that has worked for the same employer for at 
least 12 consecutive months. The employee would be entitled to up to 10 workweeks of job-protected 
unpaid Family Medical Leave in any two years.  

However, employers with fewer than 15 employees employed at a permanent work site are exempt. 
Employers may provide paid leave at their discretion.  

Coming Soon – Maine Paid Family & Medical Leave 

Beginning in 2026, eligible workers in the private and public sector will have up to 12 weeks of paid time 
off available to take care for a family member with a serious health condition, to bond with a child after 
birth, fostering or adoption, to care for their own medical needs, to deal with the transition of a family 
member’s impending military deployment or to stay safe after abuse or violence. Stay up to date: 
www.maine.gov/paidleave/  

 

Federal Family Medical Leave Act:  
 
The federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) entitles eligible employees of covered employers to 
take unpaid, job-protected leave for specified family and medical reasons with continuation of group 
health insurance coverage under the same terms and conditions as if the employee had not taken 
leave.  
 
Federal law (FMLA) applies to businesses with 50 or more employees and provides up to 12 weeks of 
job-protected leave. More information: https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/fmla   

 

Labor Resources that May be Helpful for Parents: 

 

https://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/26/title26sec604.html
https://legislature.maine.gov/legis/bills/bills_129th/chapters/PUBLIC156.asp
http://www.maine.gov/labor/labor_laws/earnedpaidleave/
https://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/26/title26sec844.html
https://www.maine.gov/paidleave/
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/fmla
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Equal Pay Law: 

Are you being paid less than an employee of the opposite sex for performing comparable work? 

If so, ask yourself the following questions: 

o Does the other employee’s job have comparable requirements relating to skill, effort, 
and responsibility?  

o Does the other employee have similar training, education or experience relating to the 
jobs performed?  

o Does your employer prohibit you from talking about your wages with your coworkers?  

If you answer “yes” to any of these questions, you may want to file an Equal Pay Complaint.  

The Maine Department of Labor has a printable complaint form which you may access here: 
https://www.maine.gov/labor/labor_laws/publications/epcomplaintform.pdf  

 

Is your child looking to work? 

Youth employment laws protect minors from working in unsafe or unhealthy conditions. They also 
ensure that work does not compromise the education of minors. Minors under 16 years old must obtain 
a work permit before beginning a job. 

Information for minors in the workforce, such as minimum ages, hours of work, prohibited occupations, 
and how to complete a work permit application, can be found here: 
https://www.maine.gov/labor/labor_laws/publications/minorsguide.html  

We also have a resource page for youth looking for work, or exploring what they may want to do for a 
career: https://www.maine.gov/labor/schoolresources/ 

 

Do you have a child with disabilities?  

The Maine Dept. of Labor’s Bureau of Rehabilitation Services (BRS) works to bring about full access to 
employment, independence, and community integration for people with disabilities. 

BRS works with both adults and students. More information: https://www.maine.gov/rehab/  

 

 Questions on the above? Contact the Maine Department of Labor:  

207-623-7900 or mdol@maine.gov 

 
Non-Department of Labor resources - Child Care: 

Child Care Subsidy Program: CCSP helps eligible families to pay for child care so parents can work, go to school, or 
participate in a job training program. CCSP is also available for eligible families where the adult(s) are retired and 
are the legal guardian of a child. More info: https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ocfs/support-for-families/child-
care/paying-for-child-care  
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