
• Do not apply when disclosure of personal social 
media account information is reasonably believed to 
be relevant to an investigation of alleged employee 
misconduct or a workplace-related violation of 
applicable laws, rules or regulations; and

• The employer has the right to establish policies 
governing the use of the employer’s electronic 
equipment, including a requirement that an employee 
disclose to the employer the employee’s user name, 
password or other information necessary to access 
employer-issued electronic devices or employer-
provided software or e-mail accounts.

FINES:  The law provides that fines will be not less 
than $100 for the first violation, not less than $250 
for the second violation and not less than $500 for 
each subsequent violation.

For more information, contact:

Maine Department of Labor
Bureau of Labor Standards 

45 State House Station 
Augusta, Maine 04333-0045 

Telephone: 207-623-7900  
TTY users call Maine Relay 711. 

Web site: www.maine.gov/labor/bls
Email: mdol@maine.gov
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Social Media 
Maine Law (26 MRSA c. 7, sub-c. 1-C)

Employers in Maine will be restricted in their 
ability to access the personal social media or email 
accounts (non-public information) of employees and 
applicants. Specifically, an employer may not:

• Require, coerce or request that an employee or applicant 
disclose the password of a private social media account;

• Require, coerce or request that an employee or applicant 
access a personal social media account in the employer’s 
presence;

• Require or coerce an employee or applicant to disclose any 
personal social media account information;

• Require or cause an employee or applicant to add anyone 
to the employee’s or applicant’s list of contacts associated 
with a personal social media account; and 

• Require, cause or request that an employee alter any 
personal social media account settings that affect a third 
party’s ability to view the contents of the account.

Employers may not terminate, discipline or 
otherwise take adverse action against an employee 
or applicant, due to the employee’s or applicant’s 
refusal to cooperate with any prohibited request or 
demand. 

The above described prohibitions:

• Do not apply to social media accounts that are opened at 
an employer’s behest, provided by an employer or intended 
to be used primarily on behalf of the employer;

• Do not apply to publicly available information;
• Do not prohibit or restrict an employer from complying 

with a duty – under federal or state law or imposed by a 
self-regulatory organization, as defined in the Securities 
and Exchange Act of 1934 – to screen prospective or 
current employees or to monitor or retain employee 
communications; 
 
 

Labor laws of the State of Maine provide protection for people who work 
in Maine. The Maine Department of Labor administers the laws, which all 
employers must follow. Department representatives inspect workplaces to 
ensure compliance.

Bureau of Labor Standards citations and penalties may be issued to employers who 
do not comply. This poster describes some important details of the law. A copy of 
the actual law or formal interpretations may be obtained from the bureau by calling  
207- 623-7900 or on the bureau’s website www.maine.gov/labor/bls.
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The Maine Department of Labor provides equal opportunity in employment and programs. Auxiliary aids and services are available to people with disabilities upon request.

This poster is available online at no charge and may be copied:  https://www.maine.gov/labor/posters/      


